Colin’s Four-Year-Old Birthday Interview

I’ve seen some scrapbookers and bloggers who interview their kids each year on their birthdays so they can compare the answers from year to year. I’ve never done this before, but thought I would start now since Colin just had his fourth birthday.

I was tempted to just fill in the answers because I thought I knew them all already, but he threw me for a couple of loops. I also altered my list of questions slightly because of said loops.

Me: “How old are you?”

Colin: “I’m four.”

Me: “What’s your favorite color?”

Colin: “Black.”

Me: “Black? I thought your favorite color was purple?”

In my head I said, “Black!? Then why did I just buy you those PURPLE shirts? And why are you telling me this ONE DAY after I washed them and can no longer return them? And did you know that I bought those purple shirts because I was already having a little bit of Mommy Guilt because you wear hand-me-downs and 75% of your shirts are orange because that is Noah’s favorite color? Now I have to look for black shirts!!?? Do you know that black is not really a very common color for toddler clothing?”

Colin: “Silly Mommy. I like black now!”

Me: “What’s your favorite animal?”

Colin: “A giraffe. It has a big long neck and little ears.”

He has never before said his favorite animal is the giraffe. He likes the dolphins at the zoo and he has two new stuffed animal snakes he sleeps with.

Me: “What’s your favorite stuffed animal that you sleep with?

Colin: “A giraffe and an elephant.”

Now I’m sure the kid is just making stuff up to throw me off. While he has both a stuffed giraffe and a stuffed elephant, I have never seen him sleep with them.

Me: What do you want to do when you get bigger?”

Colin: “I don’t want to get bigger.”

I’m certain he is just screwing with me now.

Me: “Remember you said you wanted to work at the zoo when you get bigger?”

Colin: “OK, maybe I’ll get this much bigger,” as he indicates about a half and inch with his thumb and pointer finger. “And then I’ll be a dolphin trainer.”

Finally! This is something we’ve talked about in depth, because about six months ago when we asked what he wanted to be when he grew up he just said, “A dolphin.” When we talked more about it he said he wanted to work at the zoo and throw fish to the dolphins when they jumped, which I explained was the work of a dolphin trainer.

Me: “What’s you favorite food?”

Colin: “Chicken and french fries and ketchup.”

I did know this one, especially since we averted a small crisis Monday when Mickey D’s gave him a cheeseburger in his Happy Meal by mistake.

Me: “What’s your favorite thing to do outside?”

Colin: “Kick the soccer ball.”

Me: “What’s your favorite thing to do inside?”

Colin: “Play Super Mario Brothers on the Wii.”

Me: “Who’s your best friend?”

Colin: “Chase.”

Chase is his friend from his ABA school. Colin and Chase get to play Super Mario Brothers together when they get all of their checkmarks in the afternoon. Colin has become really good at Super Mario Brothers, which is incredibly frustrating to Noah and was even frustrating to Jason when he was here. Apparently it’s not much fun for an older brother to get beat by a four-year-old at a video game.

One thought on “Colin’s Four-Year-Old Birthday Interview

Leave a Reply

