Noah at six

Noah turned six in January, so I’m a couple of months late in writing about him as a six-year-old. (Colin turned three last July, and I still haven’t written about him as a three-year-old. I really need to take care of that.)

Noah is a good kid. He just is.

He’s all about Legos. He used to have a Lego Hero obsession, but right now it’s Lego Ninjagos. He started with Star Wars Lego kits but he told me not long ago, “Mom, I’m just not into Star Wars toys anymore. I still like the movies, but I’m just not a fan of the toys.” (The phrase “I’m not a fan of _____,” is big right now.)

We’ve never really let the kids have toys in their rooms because we didn’t want them to get up at night to play with them. We’ve kept everything in the play room. We finally had to make Noah keep some Legos in his room so that  1) Zoe and Colin had some space in the play room for their toys, and 2) Noah quit getting upset because someone destroyed his carefully crafted Lego models.

He’s a collector.  I’m always emptying rocks, sticks, acorns, etc out of his pockets. He makes small books almost every day in his class and he has six months worth of them in the drawer of his nightstand. I also found about 25 more in a hidden pocket of his book bag this week.

His latest thing is his key chain collection. It started with an angry bird key chain that he attached to his backpack last fall. He eventually hung so many that the backpack became ridiculously heavy and we had to insist that he not add anymore unless he take some off first.

He takes things to heart, so he is incredibly easy to punish. When he gets in trouble, I can tell him to go to his room until he is ready to apologize. He goes to his room for a minute or two, comes out, and sincerely says, “I’m really sorry, Mommy.”

He’s helpful. He’s usually helpful because he just wants to be, but he can have ulterior motives as well. Last summer he and his cousin “worked” at my uncle’s body shop. They would clean floor mats, sand cars, etc for a couple of hours, and they made $5 each. Noah was flush with cash, and he loved it. He saved up his money to buy Legos. When the summer was over and he couldn’t work anymore (because of the demands of kindergarten), he wanted to know what else he could do to make money. We didn’t always have a “job” for him that was worth a dollar or two, so we started reward charts. They get a sticker for doing certain things, and then they get $1 once they get five stickers. He always wants to know what he can do to earn more stickers, and therefore, more money. Even his kindergarten teacher remarked on how good he was with money when they did their math unit on it.

He’s sweet and he’s caring.  He’s a great big brother. He has watched Colin’s therapists working with him, and he imitates what they do. He will put two Lego Heroes in front of Colin and say, “Which one is the blue Lego, Colin? Point to the blue one.” When Colin does something well, Noah says, “Good job, Buddy! You did it!”

Recently Zoe was upset that she didn’t get to pick what they watched on TV. Noah said, “I’m sorry, Sweetie, but it’s just that it’s my turn. You can pick next time.” He calls her Honey and Sweetie a lot. It’s awesome.

He’s not a perfect big brother though. He does annoy Zoe and Colin occasionally (and also gets annoyed). I know he’s gotten under Zoe’s skin when I hear her scream, “NO-wah!”

He’s smart. I wrote about his last report card here. It’s a good thing he’s smart since he’s missed almost 20 days of school this year between strep throat and tonsils. He just got another report card and he was out for ten days of this grading period because of the tonsils, but it was still awesome! I feel guilty sometimes that Noah was not as prepared for kindergarten as he could have been. I didn’t do flashcards and all of that with him because I was so overwhelmed with Colin’s multiple therapies. Again, it’s a good thing he’s smart. He’s picked up so much, so quickly.

He doesn’t like it when he can’t do something well, and he has a hard time accepting help. At the beginning of the school year, he would get really frustrated when he couldn’t read one of his homework books. He wants to do his homework by himself, without any help. I’ve told him that he doesn’t have a choice, and that I plan to be looking over his homework for years to come, but I’ve also tried to get a little creative. Since Zoe will be starting kindergarten this fall, I ask him if we can all work on it together since she needs to learn how to read. It’s amazing how easy it is to make him review sight words with me when he thinks it’s really for Zoe’s benefit. And, it’s a win-win, since Zoe really does benefit from it. (Sneaky, huh!?)

Noah weighs 55 pounds and I think he’s almost 48 inches tall, so he’s more than 20 pounds heavier and almost six inches taller than his peanut of a sister. It’s really hard to believe they are only ten months apart when then stand next to each other. (That’s more of a comment on Zoe’s size than Noah’s though, because Colin is 19-months younger than Zoe and he weighs two pounds more than she does and is almost as tall.) Noah is only six and he already comes up to my armpit. I’d say there’s a good possibility he’s going to tower over me when he’s 16.  (Poor Zoe asked me when she was going to be as big as Noah. She looked so forlorn when I said, “Probably never, Sweetie.”)

Six-year-old Noah says he wants to work at the grocery store so he can use that cool scanner, but he also says he wants to be an architect and a teacher. I guess we’ll see!

3 thoughts on “Noah at six

  1. I thought Noah looked awfully tall next to you in the snow tubing pics, but I was hoping he was standing on a rock or something. These kids just insist on growing up, don’t they? He’s a handsome young man, inside and out. You are a lucky mommy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

