Zoe at five years

I promise that our boys get plenty of attention, but it seems like a lot of my blog posts have been about Zoe lately! Since she just had her fifth birthday and I don’t think I ever did a four-year-update for her, I owe her one. Then I have to write a post about the CT scan she had a couple of weeks ago. Once that’s done, I assure everyone I have some stuff to say about Noah and Colin, too!

Ah, Zoe at five… What can I say except, “If she’s this way when she is five, what the HELL are we going to do when she is 15.” Christian and I are so screwed.

She is stubborn. She is ridiculously stubborn. When Noah gets in trouble, I can tell him to go to his room until he is ready to apologize. He goes to his room for three minutes, and sincerely says, “I’m really sorry, Mommy.” Zoe, on the other hand, could stay in there all day. We were at my Grandma’s house and Zoe was not being very nice to a cousin. I told her she needed to sit down until she could go up and say hello to him. She sat there for 35 minutes. She would have sat longer, but we finally made her get up and say hello. That girl does not break.

Of course, she is gorgeous. Christian and I have never believed in owning guns, but I wondering if he’s going to change his mind when she starts dating. 🙂  (She’s said she’s going to marry Noah, and seemed disappointed that we told her she couldn’t.)

She is an absolute peanut. She weighs 32 pounds and is almost 41 inches tall. She’s in the 5th percentile for weight and the 15th percentile for height. I mentioned recently that she just wore two different 18-24 month sized bathing suits when we went to a water park. They were tankinis, and the bottoms still looked like they were going to fall off of her. She is in the same size underwear as she was when she potty trained before she was three. He waist is just so small! I just bought her her first pairs of 5T jeans this week. They are OK in the length (a touch long), but the waists are huge, even when they are adjusted ALLLLLLLLL the way in.

She is incredibly strong. She just finished up her ballet class, and I think she’s doing gymnastics next. She taken preschool gymnastics classes, but I think it’s time to start her in the beginners classes with the school age kids. She’s also pretty tough. She plays rough with Colin. Colin tends to go overboard when wrestling, so we try to get him to lay off a little, but she usually says, “It’s OK! Come on, Colin!”

She still sucks her thumb and is afraid of costumed characters (Chuck E.Cheese, etc). She originally said she would stop both of these things when she turned five, but now says it will have to be a “bigger number.”

We recently bought her a full-sized day bed, which she loves. She looked really small in it at first, but she’s filled it up with throw pillows, Strawberry Shortcake, Ariel, Woody, Jessie, Bullseye, Buzz Lightyear, three pink puppies, a Hello Kitty, and some other things I can’t remember right now.

Her plan at the moment is to be a writer, an artist, and a dentist. She also wants to work at the “polish store” owned by a Vietnamese family we met. I guess we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

