Strep, flu shots, petichiae, and Kawasaki Disease

Noah started kindergarten this year. I didn’t think he would have problems getting sick from being around other kids since he had gone to preschool since he was one-and-a-half, but for some reason it’s been hard on him. He has missed six days of school already. He got strep throat at the end of September. He took his antibiotic for ten days and was healthy for seven days after that. Then he came down with a fever and sore throat again. This time the strep test was negative, but he was sick for several days. Two weeks later he had a sore throat and fever again, with another positive strep test. Zoe and Colin have not had strep during this time, but they have had low fevers, runny noses, and coughs on and off.

During one of the rare times when everyone was healthy, I did manage to get them in for flu shots. Noah has been really afraid of needles since he was in the hospital last year with Kawasaki Disease. He was so sick and it took them more than 20 minutes to put in his IV. His kindergarten shots went OK (not well, but OK), so I thought we would be alright for the flu shot. Besides that, we’ve started reward charts. The kids get a sticker for things like clearing the table after dinner, putting the dog in the kennel, cleaning the playroom, etc, and then they get $1 after they get ten stickers. I told them they would get two stickers for cooperating for flu shots, three if they didn’t cry. Noah is saving up to buy a Lego Hero, so he was pretty excited about the stickers. He even asked if he could go first when we got to the doctor’s office, so I thought we were good to go.

Then the nurse asked him to pull his pants down so she could give him the shot in his thigh, and he lost his sh*t. I mean seriously lost his sh*t. I was completely caught off guard, which I think made it even worse. Then Zoe and Colin started crying because Noah was crying. It was bad. There is no way for one mom to comfort three crying children, especially when one of them is LOSING HIS SH*T.

Noah was crying so hard that blood vessels around his eyes started bursting. It’s called petichiae. It also happened when he got his IV, so I wasn’t too alarmed. He was crying THAT hard.  This isn’t a great picture of it, but it was the best I could do. It looked much worse in real life. (The picture was taken later that night, and not at the moment he was losing his sh*t.)

Once Christian got home, he was more concerned about it than I was. Then he got me worried, and I started consulting Dr. Google. I read that the underlying cause of developing petechiae can be vasculitis, thrombocytopenia, or in clotting deficiencies. Vasculitis (inflammation of the blood vessels) is what Kawasaki causes. Kawasaki usually does not reoccur, and Noah has had all normal heart echos since he was cleared, but I was still freaking out a bit.

Luckily I still had the emails of a Kawasaki Disease Foundation volunteer and of a doctor at Northwestern. They got back to me right away and made me feel much better. They didn’t think it was anything to be concerned about. Luckily the petechiae have since cleared up and Noah seems fine.

3 thoughts on “Strep, flu shots, petichiae, and Kawasaki Disease

  1. Pingback: What do you do when your kid’s a crier? | My Minivan Rocks!

Leave a Reply

