Out of the Mouths: “You pinched Noah!”

My mom picked Colin up from school one day last week and then went to get Noah and Zoe. They stayed at Noah and Zoe’s preschool to play on the playground for a while.

My mom was at one end of the playground with Colin. Noah was at the opposite end of the playground with a friend named Charlie. Suddenly Noah came running to my mom yelling, “Charlie pinched me!”

Charlie was running toward my mom behind Noah. He said, “I was just trying to get his attention!”

My best guess if that Noah was running and Charlie was chasing him. Charlie probably grabbed Noah on the back to catch him, but Noah is VERY sensitive when it comes to injuries.

While my mom was still trying to figure out what happened, Colin decided to take matters into his own hands. He looked at Charlie and said, “You pinched Noah!” as he pinched Charlie’s arm.

On one hand, I would never teach my children that hitting or pinching is the right thing to do, as the instigator or in retaliation. On the other hand, it *is* just a little bit cute that Colin was sticking up for his big brother. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Out of the Mouths: “You pinched Noah!”

  1. I love to see Ev defend either her brother or her cousin. She is so tiny but man can she back down a big kid of she sets her mind to it. It’s all that self righteousness I guess. At a family picnic last year where, technically every kid was her “cousin” she leapt to the defense of Brevin (the cousin she sees all of the time) when an older kid just kind of tripped over him. They all had squirt guns at the time and that girl went after the older kid (and he was about three times her size and known to be mean) and she nearly drowned him with the squirt gun before I could get to her! She had him back peddling to get away from her and he was gasping “i’m sorry!” over and over but she just kept at him all the while telling him not to pick on her cousin. She stopped when I laid one hand on her arm and she stalked off in a huff. The kid she accosted looked at his brother and said, “do NOT mess with that girl”. HA! I still chuckle at the memory of it. I often think that kids are better judges of the intent of other children and while I would never let Ev or Liam be mean or just hit other people, I think it’s important they know how to stick together and how to defend themselves.

Leave a Reply

