Out of the Mouths: My Sweet Noah

Noah is a really good kid. I’m not saying he doesn’t have his moments, but generally he is just a really good kid. He is sensitive and caring.

He is a good big brother. He’s in on a lot of Colin’s therapy sessions, and he has started to use the strategies we use with Colin there.

For example, sometimes Colin has difficulty reading people’s emotions. The other day he threw food on the wall. When I scolded him, he just laughed. I said, “Colin, I am not laughing. I am ANGRY.” His affect changed and he said, “Sorry, Mommy.”

A little while later, Colin hit Noah. Noah said, “Colin, we do not hit.” Colin laughed. Noah said, “Colin, I am not laughing. I am ANGRY. You hurt me.” Colin turned around, gave him a hug, and said, “Sorry, Noah.” I love that he is trying to communicate with Colin and not just automatically get frustrated with him.

On the other hand, sometimes Noah tries to be the parent. One of Colin’s therapists suggested we use “1-2-3 Magic” and we have been doing so for a while. Sometimes when the kids are playing, I will overhear Noah say, “Colin, that is 1. If I get to 3, you get a time out.” We gently explain to Noah that we, the parents, would prefer to do the discipling.

***************

Noah’s favorite stuffed animal is a dog he named Brownie. Last night Noah was talking about school. I was telling him that when he goes to kindergarten next year he will go to school every day but Saturday and Sunday. Then we talked about how he will go to 1st grade the year after that, and then Zoe will be in kindergarten. He said, “And then I will go to 2nd grade, and 3rd grade, and 4th grade, and 5th grade. Then will I go to college?” I explained that he will go to middle school, then high school, and then college. He said, “I’ll go away to college, right Mommy?”

I said that yes, he would probably go away to college. He thought for a moment and said, “Mommy, when I pack my things up to go away to college, can I pack my Brownie and take him with me, too?”

***************

We have had water in our basement because our sewer pipe is cracked and has tree roots growing into it. We had the pipe rootered and hoped we could put off the repair. The water in the basement was gone for about a month, but then it came back, and we were understandably upset. I had called our homeowners insurance company to find that it was excluded. I dug through our home warranty paperwork to find that it was also excluded. We will have the money to do it once we get our tax refund, but we won’t get it until May (for various reasons). Noah could tell I was upset and said, “What’s wrong, Mommy?” I explained that we needed to fix the pipe, but that we didn’t know where we were going to get the money. Without hesitation, he said, “I know, Mommy! You can have the coins in my piggy bank!” I melted.

6 thoughts on “Out of the Mouths: My Sweet Noah

    • I know. I told him we wouldn’t take his coins, but that he was such a good kid for offering them to us.

Leave a Reply

