Colin’s first day of school (again)

Colin started his new new ABA school today. The last one didn’t work out, but I have high hopes for this one. I also have knots in my stomach. What if it doesn’t work out? What if it’s not the magical solution we are hoping it is? I mean, I know it’s not going to be a “magical solution,” but we have a lot riding on it helping him. I’m trying not to be “that mom,” but I mentioned again today when I dropped him off that his primary diagnosis is FAS and not Autism, and that he would not be their “typical child.” I so hope this works, and I am going to stay optimistic, but I cannot shake this nervousness.

I’m just going to try to focus on the positive right now, and that is that Colin is happy to be at school. It has been difficult to pick Noah and Zoe up from school and to drop them off the past seven six weeks because Colin wanted to be there so badly. He really thrives in the structure of school. He didn’t care where he was today, he was just happy to be at school. There were no tears or big hugs. He was just off and running. They have an amazing indoor gross motor room and he couldn’t wait to get there. I managed to get one quick picture and then he was gone.

Oh, and when I got in the car, I heard “Tik Tok” by Ke$ha. It wasn’t nearly as profound as hearing “Three Little Birds,” but I’m OK with that. I’m done looking for signs from the radio. That didn’t work out so well the first time.

4 thoughts on “Colin’s first day of school (again)

  1. Pingback: 2011 didn’t suck (or blow) | My Minivan Rocks!

Leave a Reply

