Hopefully that was a sign

I dropped Colin off at his new school this morning. I changed my work schedule around so that I could be the one to pick him up and drop him off the first day. I had to. Christian was going to take him and my mom was going to pick him up, but I just couldn’t do that.

When I got back in my car, “Three Little Birds” by Bob Marley just happened to be playing on my iPod, so the first thing I heard as I started to pull out of the parking lot was, “Don’t worry ’bout a thing, ’cause every little thing’s gonna be alright.” I’m hoping that was some sort of a sign.

I took this picture right before we went inside. He’s such a cutie, isn’t he? And how awesome is it that he cooperated for this picture? I’m so glad he did. This picture just makes me smile. I keep getting back on my computer to look at it.

When I picked him up, his therapist said that he had a good day. He only had one little tantrum, but she also explained that they didn’t do a lot of “work” today. She said the first couple of days they will play and get to know each other. They want him to think of it as a fun place to be, so they take it slow. They spent quite a bit of time in the gross motor room. It was pretty awesome though, because she spent about ten minutes talking to me when I picked him up, so it wasn’t like she was rushing me off. Plus, we got our daily written report in addition to everything she talked to me about.

Also, when I dropped him off this morning, the therapist, the consultant (the person over the therapist), and the executive director (who is a PhD but still goes by Breanne instead of “Doctor” which I love (she’s not at all pretentious)) were all at the door to greet us. The executive director spent about 15 minutes talking to me, explaining that they were going to take it easy today, that they will have a full assessment and six-month goals for us in the next two weeks and then we will set up a conference, that she and I will talking a lot before then, etc. I just loved that they took so much time with me today. It made me feel much more comfortable. Colin was just thrilled to head to the gross motor room. He didn’t need to be made to feel more comfortable at all.

These two pictures were taken about ten days ago when we went in to set up Colin’s room. Grandma, Grandpa, Mimi, Noah, and Zoe all went with us to tour Colin’s new school. (It’s also pretty cool that they invited our whole family in like that, right?) Anyway, Colin saw this game and jumped right in to play with these ducks. He loved them. Hopefully he finds lots of other cool stuff there that he likes.

15 thoughts on “Hopefully that was a sign

  1. This is so nice to hear, I am so glad his teachers seem to take so much interest and care in him. I think you chose an awesome school and Colin will do just fine. And Bob Marley always makes everything so much better!

  2. I love that picture, too. The blue spruce in the background look like it would be a backdrop for a Christmas photo or something; it’s so perfect. I’m glad he had a good day. I pray many more follow for you all.

    Oh, and Three Little Birds (aka Boom) is Binh’s absolute favorite song in the world. I have to admit, I think it’s pretty fun, too!

  3. I love 3 Little Birds! It’s one of my favorite songs. I sang it to Libby the first time I held her ; )

    I’m glad the first day went great!! Many more to follow!!

  4. Pingback: Is it bad that I am happy my kid is having tantrums at his new school? « My Minivan Rocks!

  5. Pingback: Screw you, Bob Marley « My Minivan Rocks!

  6. Pingback: Colin’s first day of school (again) « My Minivan Rocks!

Leave a Reply

