Out of the Mouths: “I’m Going to Remember That, Mommy”

I was getting the kids ready for school the other day. I always pick their clothes out the night before and lay them on the couch in our bedroom. Theoretically, they know that when they get up, they are supposed to go get those clothes and get dressed. Sometimes they are helpful and get themselves dressed without much nagging. Yesterday was not one of those days.

Zoe climbed in our bed and pulled the covers over herself when she came in our room. I told her she needed to get up and go potty and then get dressed. She wasn’t budging. I picked her up and took her in the bathroom. After a little whining, she finally peed. Then she got back in our bed. I pulled her out of bed again and took her to the couch. After arguing about my choice of socks, she finally got dressed while I was dressing Colin.

Then I asked them to go downstairs and get their shoes and sweatshirts on while I finished getting ready. They didn’t go. I asked again. They didn’t go. I asked again. They still didn’t go. Finally, I yelled.

Noah looked at me and said, “I’m going to remember that, Mommy.”

I asked, “You’re going to remember what?”

He said, “That not-nice talking.”

I said, “Good! I hope you do remember it. Maybe next time you’ll do what I ask the first time and I won’t have to give you that not-nice talking.”

He went downstairs in a huff. I contained my laughter until he was out of sight.

6 thoughts on “Out of the Mouths: “I’m Going to Remember That, Mommy”

Leave a Reply

