No, I was not drinking when I gave my child this haircut

Colin might look like this for a while:

 

Because without the hat, he looks like this:

 

See, Colin has this awesome thick, wavy hair, but when it gets too long, it gets wild. I asked my mom to cut it last week, but she hadn’t had a chance, and I just couldn’t stand it anymore.

We have a small set of clippers that I use to trim Christian’s hair in between real haircuts, and I went to work on Colin’s head tonight. I had the guard set on five, which I think would have been fine. Then I took the guard off to trim his neckline and around the ears. I put the guard back on to get a couple of spots that were still long, and just like in a scene from America’s Funniest Home Videos, the guard had somehow dialed back to ONE. There was no stopping at that point. I couldn’t leave the little bald patch in the back of his head, so we had to go all the way.

I still think he looks cute, but I thought Christian was going to cry. He has a weird emotional connection with Colin’s hair and always talks about how “awesome” it is. (I think it’s because his own is thinning, but don’t tell him I said that. 🙂 ).

This is only part of the hair that came off Colin’s head. It would make a nice toupee for someone who wanted to look like Rod Blagojevich, wouldn’t it?

 

I wish I had had my camera out while we were cutting Colin’s hair, because Noah had a look of absolute horror on his face as we were doing it. He left the room for a minute and I yelled, “Hey, Noah, come here. You’re next!”

He yelled back, “No, Mommy, I’m not coming.”

12 thoughts on “No, I was not drinking when I gave my child this haircut

  1. I did the exact same thing to my stepson once…then had to send him home to his mother who already didn’t like me. Fortunately, his hair grew fast.

  2. Eh…just one more thing on the list. He thought it was funny…I didn’t really care what she thought. Probably why she wasn’t my biggest fan, huh?

  3. I am laughing out loud. It’s actually a nice haircut, you did a good job! It’s hard with the clippers when they are squirmy, too!

  4. A little oops! He’s still cute. I won’t even attempt to cut Jammer’s hair. He has way too much of it and it is really thick.

  5. Pingback: No, I was not drinking when I took my child to get this haircut « My Minivan Rocks!

Leave a Reply

