We close in two weeks and I haven’t packed one d*mn box

Yep, that’s right – not one.single.box. I’m starting to freak out a little. We close on our current house on November 23rd at 9am. We close on the new house at 4pm the same day. We don’t actually move until two weeks after we close, so technically I have four weeks left, but the clock is ticking. When I am really stressed out, I have recurring dreams about packing for trips and not getting to the airport on time. Now I am having recurring dreams about PACKING A HOUSE and moving WITH THREE SMALL CHILDREN. Ugh. Thankfully, Christian finally agreed that we do indeed need to hire packers/ movers (but we need to try to do at least some of it on our own to save money).

It’s not that I have been lazy or anything. There have just been so many other things to do. First, since we sold our house in two days, we had to work double-time to find a new house. We really thought we might have to move in with Christian’s parents. I was so happy when we found something, not only because it meant we didn’t have to move twice, but also because living in my husband’s parents’ basement with three kids and two dogs didn’t sound like my idea of a good time. Don’t get me wrong. We are thankful that we had that option and we would have made it work if we had to, but I AM SO GLAD WE DIDN’T HAVE TO.

With inspections, appraisals, the mortgage application, etc, I already feel like I am drowning. Then add insurance conpanies and contractors into the mix. After the inspection on our current house, they determined that we have hail damage to our roof and we have to replace it before the closing, but our insurance company has not paid us yet.  Did I mention that the closing IS IN TWO WEEKS? Then, at the new house, there is an insurance claim for the kitchen floor. The contractor the current homeowner hired didn’t show up twice, and neither the homeowner nor I thought that was a good sign. We got bids from two other people, and now we’re trying to figure out how to get the work done before we move.

We have been working hard at purging things we don’t need. A friend is pregnant with a boy, so we’ve LOADED her car up twice with clothes, a bassinet, a high chair, walker, toys, etc. We also sold some stuff to a re-sale shop. Last night I went through everything in our bathroom. I got rid of two trashbags full of stuff. Some of it was expired medicine or just junk, but a lot of it was make-up, hair accessories, and fancy lotions. I put what little make-up I do wear on in the car, so I really don’t have much use for all of that crap anymore.

Two of Christian’s friends have taken furniture from our basement that we don’t need, and this morning I loaded a TV and TV stand into my co-worker’s hatchback (she carpools with her husband, and I have no idea where he’s going to sit on the way home). We’re still trying to unload some other stuff. Anyone need an L-shaped desk, a treadmill, an exercise bike, a TV stand, a loveseat, flowery decorations for a bathroom (shower curtain, two rugs, two pictures, accessories), insect/ butterfly/ dragonfly/ bee decorations for a baby’s or kid’s room, or puppy decorations for a baby’s or kid’s room?

Anyway, since we’ve been so busy, I am WAY BEHIND on the blog. I have lots of pictures from October that I need to post, and I’m going to do my best to get them up this week!

4 thoughts on “We close in two weeks and I haven’t packed one d*mn box

  1. Back in 2007 we sold our house in less than one day and had two weeks to move. We did it! I packed almost everything and hubby and a coulple of friends moved it all to my parents house (we hadn’t started building our house) and a storage unit.
    My sis and her hubby sold there house and got everything packed and moved in 1.5 weeks. So, you can do it. I know it’s not fun, but it will give you a chance to get rid of anything you dont’ need-LOL

  2. Been missing you – glad for the update. I’ve been wondering how it was all going, crazy as ever it sounds. 🙂 Life wouldn’t be fun if we didn’t have so much to do, right? We’re in the process of finishing our basement and I’ve been trying to purge all the unneccessary things we have collected the last few years, it’s amazing how much we don’t need, I can’t imagine moving! Although I”m sure that day will come for us too. Hang in there!

  3. Oh man, do I feel for you! This sounds like the last three weeks of my life. I purged our home of SO much stuff in two weeks flat for the move. At this end, I’m so glad I did it. I’m drowning in boxes as it is…if I’d had another third of what I have now, I’d probably just throw myself off the balcony. Moving is HARD. The best thing we did was have packers and movers come take care of that part. Now I wish I had UNpackers! Good luck with it all – you’ll get there. In the meantime, drink. Heavily. 🙂

Leave a Reply

