Miscellaneous Monday

I have a lot going on right now and don’t have the brainpower to write about any of it in detail, so I just thought I would share some miscellaneous stuff.

Moving:

  • We are considering moving, just a few miles south of where we are now. We are looking at houses that might have a little more space and would be in a more diverse school system. Hopefully I’ll have time to write a separate post about that soon. In the meantime, I’ll just say that looking at houses, getting our house ready to sell, and thinking about mortgages and packing is stressful. We told the kids that we might move to a different house, but didn’t talk too much about it as it’s a little premature. Noah was a bit concerned about his toys, but we assured him we would pack them up and take them with us. 
  • We went to look at a for-sale-by-owner house last night and took the kids with us. Before we went in, I told them not to touch anything. While we were inside, Noah said, “But I can touch the floor, right, Mommy?” Yes, Noah, I guess we technically HAVE to touch something.
  • This particular house is smaller than the one we are in now, but the idea was that maybe we could buy it and add on to it because it is on a 2-acre lot with a pond. The whole house would need to be redone though, so it just wouldn’t be practical. Anyway, the kids loved the huge backyard and the pond, and they didn’t want to leave. We were going to eat after we left the house, but Zoe started to throw a fit saying, “I want to eat HERE!” The single man who lived there told her he was getting ready to put a Tombstone pizza in the oven, but that he usually ate it all himself.

At work:

  • I’ve mentioned before that I work for an order of nuns who care for the elderly poor. The woman who founded the order in France in the early 1800s will be canonized (made a saint in a special mass by the Pope) this weekend. Some of our Sisters, residents, and volunteers are going to Rome. Then we are having a gigantic mass and reception on October 25th. It is a BIG DEAL, and the nuns are stressing out, which stresses me out. In addition, we have our annual bingo fundraiser this Friday, with 420 people attending. I will be SO GLAD when this month is over.

Other stuff: 

  • I folded laundry for 2-1/2 hours last night. I hate laundry. Laundry sucks.
  • Christian said this morning, “I’m going to kill our first-born if he keeps getting up in the middle of the night.” Noah has started getting up a million times a night to go “potty.” Believe me, this kid has a camel-bladder, so we’re not buying it. He gets up, goes “potty,” then stands in the hall doing his loud fake cough, just in case we decide we want to get up to put him back to bed. When we don’t, he finally goes back in his room. He also gets up sometimes to play. He has an obsession with these little Transformer-like balls called Bakugans right now. He always wants to out them in a cabinet in his room before he lies down. I put him down for a nap the other day, shut his door, and only took one step before I heard the magnetic latch. I opened the door back up and totally busted him.
  • I love my husband, but my head is going to pop off if I have to listen to his band anymore. I made the mistake of pointing out, “This is Daddy’s band,” when one of the songs came on my iPod in the car, and now that’s all they want to listen to. Know how a favorite song can get old once Top 40 radio plays it too much? I want to scream.
3 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Monday

  1. I’m sorry you’re having a busy month, hope you get through it without too much drama. I have to admit, though, that I generally laugh out loud when you talk about your work. It makes me laugh when you refer to “the nuns”, as in “the nuns are stressing out..”. So feel free to vent about work anytime 🙂

  2. I hear you on the same song time after time again. I’m ready to tell the kids my CD player in the car is broke so I don’t have to listen to the same song! Chicka chicka boom boom, mommy’s going to go crazy!

  3. wow i admire your work. i used to visit this trappist monastery (Mepkin Abbey) in SC about 3 times a year- the only one that allowed lay people to pray in the choir stalls with the monks. god it was amazing and perhaps one of the most transforming experiences of my life. i look forward to a time when i can get back there again.

Leave a Reply

