Out of the mouths… “Grandma wants to know if I can spend the night”

The kids spend the night at my parents’ house about once a week, and they love it. It’s usually on Sunday nights because my mom watches them on Mondays, and Christian and I both have early Monday meetings.

A week or so ago, my parents came over for dinner. When I told the kids that Grandma and Grandpa were coming over, Noah said, “They’re coming to pick me up. Grandma asked if I can spend the night.” I assured him that Grandma had asked no such thing, and that they were just coming for dinner. He was not pleased.

The other night my mom called, and Noah answered the phone. He brought it to me and said, “It’s Grandma. She wants to know if I can spend the night.” I took the phone from Noah and heard my mom laughing. She had said no such thing to Noah, although that was actually her purpose for calling. Noah just got lucky that time.

We’re going to have to watch that one. He’s three, and he’s already doing the if-mommy-says-no-I’ll go-ask-daddy thing, too. Stinker.

5 thoughts on “Out of the mouths… “Grandma wants to know if I can spend the night”

Leave a Reply

