Zoe’s big-girl bed: Wish us luck

Update: At bedtime, Zoe announced, “I want put myself to bed,” and hopped right up. Just a few minutes after getting in bed she pulled a, “I have to go potty,” (when she really didn’t – oh that makes me angry). Otherwise, we didn’t hear a peep out of her all night, so either she didn’t get up or Christian and I were in comas. Let’s hope it lasts! (the not-getting-up part, not the comas)

The kids all spent the night with my mom and Tom last night, so we took the opportunity to eat a quick dinner (at a restaurant without a drive-thru) and then get some things done around the house. One of the things we did was convert Zoe’s crib to a toddler bed. She has never tried to climb out of her crib, so we’ve put this transition off, but decided it was finally time.

When we switched Noah to his big-boy bed, he felt like there was some sort of force field around it that kept him in it. For several months, he would not get out of bed on his own, and he would still yell for us when he woke up. I don’t think Zoe is going to feel that same force field. I am envisioning having to put her back in her bed several times tonight. Wish us luck. It may prove to be a very long night.

7 thoughts on “Zoe’s big-girl bed: Wish us luck

  1. My daughter is still going through the force field. She has been in her big girl bed for months. She never calls for us or gets off the bed unless I come in and tell her she can get down. How did you finally get Noah to get down on his own? No amount of talking will get Jenna down on her own. Even though she has a stool and can get up and down on her own. She will sit at the end of the bed where the stool is and wait patiently in silence for me to tell her she can get down.
    I hope everything goes great with Zoe : )

  2. Good luck! For Logan the transition to toddler bed and big boy bed was a piece of cake. We turned Ava’s crib into a toddler bed and now she won’t even sleep in her room!

  3. Good luck! Make sure you update on how that goes!

    Chloe prefers her crib, and I keep thinking about switching her to a normal bed, but I don’t look forward to her getting out of bed in the middle of the night! So for now I still have her crib AND a bed set up in her room…

  4. It will be interesting to hear how your night went. We totally understand that struggle though we moved Jammer to a toddler bed last August. He just refused to stay in his crib. Now her prefers to sleep with us and we are working hard at getting him back into his own bed. But it is so hard when your kiddo is bull headed.

  5. Pingback: Toddler bed force fields and night owls « My Minivan Rocks!

Leave a Reply

