Love146 and “I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here!”

Edited to add: OK, I vouched for the charity, not for the show. So far it’s been a little painful to watch, but I’m gonna do my best to stick with it for Love146!

 

Planning to watch the premiere of I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here! tonight?

I wasn’t either, until I learned that contestant Stephen Baldwin is playing for the charity Love146.

Love146 is a non-profit organization that works to end child sex-trafficking and exploitation. I “met” one of the founders, Rob Morris, while he and his wife were in the process of adopting their daughter from Vietnam.

This is how Love146 got its name:

In 2002 co-founders Rob Morris, Desirea Rodgers, Lamont Hiebert and Caroline Hahm traveled to South East Asia to witness first hand the atrocity of child sex slavery and the hope of abolition and restoration. While there, Rob and Lamont went undercover with professional investigators into a brothel. In that brothel, they witnessed little girls standing behind a wall of glass, each wore a matching red dress with a number pinned to her chest; they were watching children’s cartoons on small television sets. Men were purchasing these girls by the number pinned to her dress. As Rob and Lamont looked at these children watching cartoons they were struck by the eyes of each child. Their eyes seemed empty, without spark of life, like robots. And then there was #146. The only one not watching cartoons, she was staring back through the glass with fire and fight left in her eyes, there was still life there. In her eyes we found our calling. In her number came our name.

So, please check it out tonight (and four nights a week for the next several weeks!) on NBC. Participate online, too. I think the audience has a say in who stays on the show, and the longer Stephen Baldwin stays, the more money will be donated to Love146.

Also, be sure to check out the Love146 blog for more information.

12 thoughts on “Love146 and “I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here!”

    • Just remember that I’m vouching for the charity, not the show or the Baldwin! (Some of those Baldwins can be real douches.)

  1. You are right it is a good charity and I will stick it out with you, but it is a bad bad show. If Stephen Baldwin removes his shirt one more time then all bets are off and I’m out.

  2. Pingback: Love146 News | Worldwide News

  3. Pingback: Love146

  4. Pingback: “I’m a Celebrity” is craptastic television « My Minivan Rocks!

  5. Pingback: Love146

Leave a Reply

