Where should we go?

Christian and I have some airline miles left from our trip to Vietnam and they will expire next year. We are planning a family vacation to Cabo next spring, but I’m afraid the flights we need will end up being blacked out and we won’t be able to use them for that trip. We’re thinking that maybe we could go somewhere this year, just the two of us, for four or five days (or however long we can con the grandparents into keeping Noah, Zoe, and Colin).

So, where should we go? I’m not really sure we want a beach vacation, or I would just pick a spot in Florida or the Caribbean and be done with it. There are plenty of places in Europe I’d like to go (or go back) and of course we would love to go back to Vietnam, but that can’t be done in such a short trip. Any suggestions for someplace here in the gool ol’ USA?  Or even Canada?

I’ve been thinking about New York or New Orleans. Any suggestions for can’t miss attractions in either place?

9 thoughts on “Where should we go?

  1. I think you should visit the Seattle area! We recently moved here from Chicago and love it and hear the summers are amazing. August would be a perfect time for a get away. Please let me know if you come. I’d love to get together!

  2. New Orleans – history, gorgeous architecture, neat ghost tours, food. Cheaper than New York

    New York – if you’ve never been…. where to start. See a show, Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty, Comdedy Clubs, SHOPPING. The best pizza you’ll ever eat – Grimaldi’s in Brooklyn, right over the bridge.

    Montreal is a nice little town, has a neat little downtown area that reminds you of Europe, with the buildings, restaurants, hike up Mont Tremblant (the small mountain right in the city, I forget the name).

    San Fran – Chinatown, Alcatraz, Fisherman’s Warf, Golden Grate Bridge. 4 days would be enough to see each part of the city.

    Can you tell I LOVE to travel. Whatever you decide – give me a shout, perhaps I’ll have some hotel or restaurant tips for you. 🙂

  3. You should come to Portland! It’s beautiful no rain, no humidity weather from june – oct. Seattle is close by as is Vancouver, BC. Mountains 45 min one way, the pacific ocean (and goonie rock!) 45 min the other way.

    C’mon! 😉

    PS See you on Sunday!

  4. I had to laugh as I drove a mini van for many years. So glad that I found your blog.

    Hope you sill stop by my blog for a visit. Though I am relativity new to blogging, I am loving all my new friends.

    I am giving away my first EVER BLOG PRIZE.
    I have a gift basket business and it is the most requested gift over the last 15 years.
    From the comments I have already received, appears to be something a little different and something anyone could use.
    I have been so touched by the comments that I have decided to give 2 boxes . They will be the $100 deluxe size.

    I really do want to bless people!!! I want my blog to encourage others. I have decided that giving is life at its BEST. The drawing will be Saturday!

  5. If you go in the summer, New Orleans will be hot and muggy, but if you can get over that, it would be fun.
    I love Boston in the summer. The weather is nearly perfect after May/early June. Lots of history, culture, great shopping, nightlife, the Red Sox…ok, through that last on in there just for me! 🙂

  6. We go between beach trips, city trips, and nature trips…and sometimes try to combine all three. Do you know what you’d want to do? Boston in the summer can be like a city trip – and you could head out west to the mountains or to the coast if you wanted to get away for a bit. Same with SF – we went there in the fall, and did a day in the city and a day out at Yosemite (OK, we probably drive too much, but if you were there for 5 days, you could split the time differently). I don’t know – I get bored really easily 🙂

    Oh, and last year we went to St. Kitts with miles and there was NO ONE there. We were the only ones! We had the whole beach to ourselves. THAT was very cool, too.

Leave a Reply

