Voices for Vietnam Adoption Integrity

Recently I was invited to become a contributing editor for Voices for Vietnam Adoption Integrity (VVAI), www.adoptionintegrity.com. So far I have only posted links to a couple of news items, but I would like to encourage you to read what Christina wrote today, called “‘Not in My Adoption’…What Price Ignorance?”. Her post is in response to a recently published article on corruption in India adoptions, but she points out that it doesn’t matter what country is in the spotlight today because the story is the same. Adoption corruption happens all over the world. Babies are sold, stolen, and trafficked, and agencies, orphanages, and government officials falsify paperwork to make the children appear to be legitimate orphans.

Do I believe that all adoptions are suspect? No. I have never said that, and I never will. Do I believe that Zoe’s adoption was suspect? I don’t know. I would love to believe that everything was legitimate, but I definitely have reasons to be concerned, given the agency we used and the province from which we adopted her. And I think I owe it to her to try to find out. I also think that I owe it to her to be honest about my concerns when she is older. I dread those conversations, but I think she deserves to know the truth. And she deserves to hear it from Christian and me, rather than stumbling across it on her own. Do I believe that ethical, transparent adoptions are possible? Absolutely, but the only way to ensure that those adoptions are possible is if we admit that the corruption exists, talk about it, and take every step necessary to stamp it out. I GET SO ANGRY when people stick their heads in the sand and say, “Not in my adoption,” and simply look the other way.

Please read Chris’s VVAI post, and check out the links. Read the Mother Jones article,  “Meet the Parents: The Dark Side of Overseas Adoption.” Then tell me that adoption corruption doesn’t exist. Watch the video Stolen and Sold, about an Australian adoptive family that learns their children, now teenagers, where stolen from their birth mother as toddlers. Watch as the adoptive mother recalls having to tell her two children that they were “stolen and sold” or as their birth mother recounts the various ways she tried to kill herself as she agonized over the loss of her son and her daughter. Then tell me that I need to just move on, forget about it, or let it go.

Leave a Reply

