Colin’s 6-month update

I’m a bit late posting Colin’s 6-month update (since he’s almost 7-months-old now), but that’s how I roll these days. I never thought I would be one to be so behind on things all the time, but now it’s just the inevitable.

Anyway, at his 6-month doctor’s appointment, Colin was 27 inches long (50-75th percentile) and weighed 17 lbs, 8 oz (25-50th percentile).

Colin is getting the hang of eating solids, but still isn’t interested in eating much of them. We had no idea how lucky we were with Noah. He was so easy to feed. He would drink 32 ounces of formula a day and he ate 4-6 jars of baby food. I would wait until baby food was on sale and buy six or more jars of every flavor of baby food they had on the shelf. The cashiers were always annoyed that they had to scan 100 individual jars of baby food when I came in, but that would only last me just over two weeks. I always wondered why they didn’t just sell it by the case. After trying to feed Zoe and Colin solids, I understand. Most parents only need a third of the baby food we needed for Noah.

We also didn’t realize how lucky we were that Noah was so easy to feed. He would just sit in his highchair, with his hands at his sides. It was no mess, no fuss. Colin is much more like Zoe. I either need to wear an apron when I feed him, or feed him something that is the same color as the shirt I am wearing. He opens his mouth and then closes it just as the food comes near. He tries to grab the spoon and the jar of baby food. He puts his fingers and his bib in his mouth. He has mastered the art of blowing raspberries with a mouth full of food.

dsc01493-2

 

Aside from the feeding issues, he is SUCH a great baby. He has the most amazing disposition. I took him to get these pictures taken and he smiled for ALL of them. We got so many good ones, it was hard to choose.

scan0002

scan0005

scan0004

 

He has rolled over a handful of times, but he’s still not rolling over with any regularity. He can sit on his own for long periods of time (but man does he get p*ssed when he falls over). He LOVES his jumperoo. I think he is spring-loaded and his legs are STRONG. He even tries to jump when he’s just “standing” in my lap.

He’s incredibly ticklish and he has the most amazing laugh. He loves Noah and Zoe, too. Sometimes I get worried that they are being too rough with him, but he just cracks up whenever they touch him. (Except when Zoe bit him the other day. He didn’t like that so much.)

I haven’t gotten a “ma ma” yet, but he can definitely say “da da.” He’s very vocal and somtimes he gets really excited and starts babbling and yelling. When we put him down for bed, we often hear him “talking” to himself for several minutes through the monitor.

He is such a happy baby. I know I keep saying that, but I just can’t even begin to describe this kid. Noah and Zoe were both good babies, but Colin is a HAPPY baby. Sure he has his moments, but he really is incredible.

10 thoughts on “Colin’s 6-month update

  1. Awww, he is so precious!!!

    And a full immersion baptism–impressive! My kids all scream at the priest for just getting droplets of water on their heads, so a full immersion that doesn’t end up with a dropped baby or a deaf priest is impressive to me. LOL!

  2. It’s reassuring to know that my son isn’t the only one that eats his bib and blows raspberries! I end up laughing at him as much as he laughs at me for mealtimes.

Leave a Reply

