The post in which I take a break from my normal sarcastic ways and get all sappy and sentimental

A quote in Elaine’s  post today really struck me:

“If you are still in the process of raising children, be aware that the tiny fingerprints that show up on almost every newly cleaned surface, the toys scattered about the house, the piles and piles of laundry to be tackled will disappear all too soon and that you will—to your surprise—miss them profoundly…”  ~Thomas S. Monson, “Finding Joy in the Journey,” Ensign, Nov. 2008

When Christian and I are rushing around at night trying to make dinner, clean up, get three kids in the bath, get jammies on everyone, etc., it’s sometimes hard to remember that.

Our nights are busy. Getting ready for bed is quite a process. After dinner, Christian takes the kids upstairs to start baths, while I clean up the kitchen. While they are still in the tub, I get the pajamas, diapers, lotion, etc. ready. I also pick out their clothes for the next day. Then we get them all out of the tub and lay them on our bed to get pajamas. Noah gets lotion, pajamas, and chapstick. Colin gets lotion, a onesie, and pajamas. Zoe has eczema, so she needs cortisone and them some thick nasty lotion. She also has longer hair, so she needs the anti-tangle spray and her hair brushed. Then we sit in bed together, watching a movie, reading books, or just hanging out for a while. Eventually one of us puts Noah and Zoe to bed (and deals with Noah’s stall tactics) while the other takes Colin downstairs for his last bottle. Somewhere in there I do a load of laundry and we pick up the family room and playroom, vacuum, pack lunches and backpacks, re-stock the diaper bag, etc.

When I went to the dentist after Zoe came home, and again after Colin came home, she told me I had been grinding my teeth and had the beginnings of TMJ (a painful jaw disorder). I was not surprised. My jaw began hurting at 7pm, like clockwork, just as our nightly routine began. As soon as I decided to change my attitude and try enjoy the kids at dinner, in the bath, and as we all piled on the bed after baths to get jammies on, the jaw aches and the teeth grinding stopped.

I won’t say that I enjoy it every night, but I really try to enjoy it most of the time. My favorite part of the day is that time when we are all on the bed together. Sometimes it’s hard to just live in that moment and not think about everything that still needs to be done, but these days I really try to. I’m working on taking it one step at a time, and enjoying it, rather than thinking about the whole process. 

The thing about having Noah, Zoe, and Colin so close together is that they will all leave the house about the same time (I presume, anyway). I know I will miss them then, so I am doing my best not to “miss it” now.

By complete coincidence, I took these pictures last night, while trying to enjoy it.

1

2

3

6 thoughts on “The post in which I take a break from my normal sarcastic ways and get all sappy and sentimental

  1. I’ve had TMJ for the past couple of years and ended up with braces to help fix it (it worked). I hear you on the busy days (we only have two little ones, but I started watching my six month old niece today). Days are hetic and stressfull, but I wouldn’t change it for a minute (ok, maybe sometimes). In a five years I know I’ll miss it.

  2. Great pictures! I loved that quote, which is why I posted it. I’m with my kids all day, but I know I’m frequently not *with* them. Not long before my grandfather died he repeatedly reminded me of this same thing. When I would take my (then) four kids up to visit he was so happy to have “life in the house again.” He kept saying someday I would look back and realize these were the golden years. They sure don’t feel so golden a lot of the time, but I know what he meant, and I appreciate the reminder from him and others.

  3. So very true….I had a nanny job where I was “scolded” not for my care of the children (I was told that was excellent) but for not getting the laundry put away or the kitched floor swept (3 times a day) in a timely manner. I was told the little ones could wait and I would understand when I had kids of my own. I quit that job the next day and now that I have a child, I don’t understand making a child wait while I clean. I have decided that I am not going to stress about dishes piling up in the sink or laundry sitting in the basket an extra day or two. It can all wait and I won’t make my son wait.

  4. How did you know I needed this post? Perfect timing! I can’t imagine your load, with 3 kids so young, but I know that with my 6, spread out from 7 to 18 yrs., I “forget” to enjoy them on a daily basis- lol! Sometimes they’re just so darn hard to enjoy- especially those teenaged boys! But everything you said is so, so right… and I love the pics of your cuties- very sweet!

  5. I hear ya sista!!! I sometimes feel like I am going to pull my hair out then I think there will be a day that this time is gone and I will be upset that I did not enjoy every second. We all need a reminder from time to time 🙂

  6. That’s what’s great about you and Christian – you guys have taken all this stuff in stride. (I’m being completely serious here). It’s not easy to have three under three – but you guys are doing it and your kids are thriving. You guys rock! 😉

Leave a Reply

