Dumplings, with a side of Dramamine

I used to drive my mom crazy because I had such a hard time going to sleep. On a LONG car ride to Florida when I was little, my mom was so desperate for me to sleep that she tried to slip some Dramamine in my dumplings at a Cracker Barrel. Since she didn’t smash it up first, and since dumplings aren’t supposed to be crunchy, I naturally freaked out when mine crunched. I spit it out and started causing a scene. When my mom tried to calm me down by explaining what she had done, I screamed and cried, “You tried to poison me!” My mom was rather embarrassed by my outburst and by the icy sideways glances and horrified stares she got from the other Cracker Barrel patrons.

Payback’s a b*tch, because now it’s hard to get Noah to go to sleep. With his eyes rolling back in his head from fatigue, he will say, “I’m not tired Mommy. I don’t need a nap.” This kid would prop his eyelids open with toothpicks if he had to. He would never consider napping on the couch, and he hardly ever sleeps in the car. (He can usually make it the entire 2-1/2 hour car ride to the lake. Once, after a particularly difficult 2-hours-and-15-minutes into the trip, he had the nerve to finally say, “I’m tired,” prompting me to say a few choice words to him under my breath.)

Noah has mastered the art of stalling at nap time and bed time. He has to shut all the doors and flip all of the light switches on the way to his room, put his Thomas the Train book in his cabinet, put his shape magnets (or whatever his toy du jour happens to be) in the “box” of his step stool, and climb up into his bed without our help. He has to have his Cars blanket, his “big puppy”, and his Mr. Incredible doll in his bed, and he has to get just ONE MORE good night kiss. It’s exhausting.  

Zoe is a little better. She will go to sleep in the car if she’s tired, and she will occasionally take a snooze while cuddling with me on the couch. She’s definitely easier to put to bed than Noah is. Still, I wouldn’t say that she can “sleep anywhere.”

I always knew that kids who could “sleep anywhere” existed, but I just never thought I would be lucky enough to have one. I was amazed that my cousin Shannon’s son would just get a pillow and lie down on the floor for a nap if he was tired.

I posted a picture several weeks ago when Colin just slumped over on the couch and went to sleep without warning. I thought it was funny, but I also thought it was a fluke. It turns out that I finally have the kid who can sleep anywhere, though, and here’s the proof!:

In the Bumbo:

copy-of-dsc009591

 

Playing happily in the jumperoo, and then sleeping just a minute later:

dsc01173-1

dsc01148-1

 

In the Ergo in the middle of Zoe’s NOISY birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese:

dsc01014

 

My mom took this one of him sleeping in the exersaucer at my parents’ house

p10105641

 

It looks like I’ll never have to put Dramamine in Colin’s dumplings. But if I do, at least I’ll know to smash it up a little first.

7 thoughts on “Dumplings, with a side of Dramamine

  1. I am cracking up over your story from your childhood. that is too funny! I’m praying that when we have a second child, she is like your little one. I deserve it! (Selfish, huh? I don’t’ care. I’m still tired!)

  2. Aww! What a cutie and how lucky you are. We went on a 3.5 hour trip this past weekend and both of our kids stayed awake! Then they wouldn’t nap at my uncle’s house, so they were nice and cranky for everyone. Me, on the other hand, I can sleep anywhere!

  3. The sleep-anywhere-kids are THE BEST. Lucky you!

    HILARIOUS! I can really see you causing a scene at the Cracker Barrel, however, I must say, my scene would have started at being forced to eat a dumpling period! YUCK! I’d opt for the straight Dramamine!

    I’m catching up on your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

