I’m Changing My Name

FROM CHRISTIAN:

It is truly amazing how many things that my parents said to me that have come back to me since having kids. This morning that wonderful phrase keeps going through my head as Noah keeps saying “Daddy?” and then I say “Yes?” and then he says “Daddy?” and I say “What?” and then he says “Daddy?” and then I say “Yes, Noah?” and then he says “Daddy?” and then I say “WHAT, Noah?” and then he says “Daddy?” and then I say “WHAT do you want, Noah?” I think I’m going to change my name. My mom always said that when my brother and I would do similar things. It always made me roll my eyes as a kid, but now I COMPLETELY understand.

UPDATE FROM TRACY:

Christian stole my post idea. I’v been meaning to write for a while that I’M going to change MY name because I’m so tired of hearing, “Mommy…Mommy…Mommy…Mommy…Mommy.”

My mom told me that when she was little my grandma said once, “I’m so tired of hearing ‘Mom’ I think I’m going to change my name to ‘SH*T!'”

4 thoughts on “I’m Changing My Name

  1. Hey! My mom use to say that to us too. She would tell us her new name was
    supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. You know….from the Mary Poppins movie?

    Everything my daughter wants she will say her name. All I hear all day is “Nennnnnnaaaa” (Jenna). So I tell her I am going to changer HER name to
    supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

    She looks at me and says “suuuperrr.”

  2. My heart melted right in my chest the first time SP said “mama” I’m not sure if I will ever get sick of it, then again, I do not have 3 children all young and close in age 🙂

  3. Okay, I’ll admit it. When Matty first started saying my name, I almost cried every time. While I still *usually* love it, the new, MAAAAAMMMMMM” and “MMAAA MAAAA” he’s throwing into the mix when he wants something NOW have gotten a little….tiring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

