Colin’s 2-month update

I took Colin to the doctor last week for his 2-month appointment. He is now 22 3/4 inches long, putting him in the 10th-25th percentile. He is 12 lb, 6 oz, putting him in the 25-50th percentile. At 1-month he was in the 10th percentile for length and the 10th-25th for weight, so he’s jumped up the charts a bit!

He’s eating 4-6 ounces every 3-4 hours. At night, he usually goes to bed at around 8 or 9pm, has a bottle around 3am, and then gets up about 8am. If I could count on that to be consistent, I would be THRILLED, but every few nights he decides to throw us a curve ball and get up a couple of times. I know he’s only 2-months-old and I need to be patient, but I can’t wait until we get him on a schedule. I LOVE schedules and routines. I don’t mind being a little flexible with the schedule, but it is just so much easier when I can plan for things. I’ve been writing down when he sleeps and eats for the past few days in order to try to find patterns, so hopefully we’re getting close to finding some predictability.

Colin is really a good baby. He has periods of fussiness of course, but generally he’s pretty happy. He has started smiling more and more, which I love. They are real smiles too – the kind where he smiles in reaction to my voice or my face, and not just because he has gas or because I tickle his cheek.

I am officially off work now (except for a few meetings here and there) until October 20th. Noah and Zoe have started back to school on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, so I have had a little bit more time with Colin. I think the hardest part of having all three kids close together is that I don’t always feel like I can give each one the attention that they deserve. I think they are all three great kids and they seem to be well-adjusted, so it’s probably more of my own “mommy-guilt” issue than anything else. Nevertheless, it has been nice to have some one-on-one with Colin, and to actually be able to HOLD him for extended periods of time. I think that later on it will be great that they are so close in age, but right now it’s challenging to put it mildly. But even though some most days I am counting down the minutes to when Christian gets home from work, I wouldn’t change a thing. (OK, that’s not entirely true. I would like to get more sleep.  I wish everyone in my house slept through the night. I would definitely change that. Well-rested moms, dads, and kids are happier moms, dads, and kids. BELIEVE ME.)

3 thoughts on “Colin’s 2-month update

  1. Wow, he’s really growing. I’m glad you’re finally off for a bit so you have some time! I don’t know how you did it. I’m hanging on by a thread with my ONE kid who’s nearly a year and a half with no job outside the home! I know, I know, I’m lame. Anyway, sounds like things are going well. Sending you all good sleep vibes, although I’m not sure you want them from me!

  2. I just came across your website from Metaphase. My wife and I have a biological son who is almost 4, an adopted daughter from Vietnam who just turned 1, and she just found out she is pregnant. Is having 3 kids as hard as I think it is going to be. BTW – my wife wants the minivan but I’m still resistant.

Leave a Reply

