I just left my 2-month-old son with a 20-year-old girl

“I just left my 2-month-old son with a 20-year-old girl.” That’s what I said to Christian when I called him at work two minutes after I pulled out of the driveway, leaving 2-month-old Colin with 20-year-old babysitter Alison. (Noah and Zoe are at pre-school today from 9am-2pm).

He replied, “He’ll be fine. It’s not like she’s a 14-year-old girl.”

He’s right. It’s not the fact that she is 20 (although she does seem so young! Was I that young when I was 20?). I mean, my mom was only 19 when she had me, and I turned out normal. (I did, didn’t I? Sometimes I think I should check before I make statements like that.)

However, it IS the fact that this is the first time I have left any of my children with a non-family member as a babysitter. I knew it had to happen sooner or later, but I guess I was hoping for later. We checked her references, and she spent last Tuesday with Christian’s mom and all three kids while I was working so she could learn the ropes, so I’m sure Colin and Alison will be fine today. I’m just not sure that I will be.

The good news is that the reason I need a babysitter today is that it is my last day in the office (other than a meeting here and there) until October 20th. (My mom, who normally watches the kids on Thursdays, is in Florida for a few weeks.) And, since Noah and Zoe are now in pre-school three days a week, I will be able to have some one-on-one time with my poor little neglected third child.

It will be strange to only have one kid 15-hours a week! What will we do with ourselves? I’m hoping for at least a little of that whole “sleep when the baby sleeps” thing, since it doesn’t work when you also have two toddlers in the house.

Eh, who am I kidding? It’s probably not going to happen since three children produce lots of laundry and dishes.  It’s also much easier to go to the grocery with one child than it is with three. THAT’s probably the kind of stuff Colin and I will be doing.

4 thoughts on “I just left my 2-month-old son with a 20-year-old girl

  1. Sounds like things may actually be quiet for you for atleast those 15 hours a week. I sent Abbi to Kindergarten yesterday and it is very quiet and a bit weird to only have 1 child at home. I’m being told to enjoy it…but for now I’m adjusting and really missing Abbi.

  2. That’s so cool that you’ll have this time with the little one. I’m totally with you as far as the babysitters go. My 17 year old babysits for others and I think it’s great…for her. Leaving my kids with a non-family member scares me. No valid reason for it and it’s totally my own hangup, but I can’t bring myself to do it. Other people I know have hired my daughter by word of mouth and have never met her. And they leave their tiny little kids with her. So, I guess it’s whatever your comfortable with and what resources you have.

  3. What a different world. If we didn’t hire sitters, we’d never go out. I’ve even used a sitter as young as 14. In my defense, she’s the oldest of 6 kids, extremely responsible, a friends daughter & she came highly recommended by many people. I think I’d trust my fil less with my kids than our sitters 😉

    Enjoy your bonding time. What a gift to have that alone time with #3!

  4. Kristen-

    You know what’s weird? I think I was babysitting when I was 10 or 11 and it seemed perfectly fine. I was only across the street from my house and my mom was always home while I was babysitting, but I can’t believe those parents trusted me! The kids were 4 and 5, so a little different from a 2-month-old, but I don’t think that’s even legal!

Leave a Reply

