Translation

I went to pick the kids up at my parents’ house today after work, and Zoe started saying something to me as soon as I walked in the door. She was saying it emphatically, and over and over, but I could not figure out what it was. Finally Noah looked at me and said, “She wants a fruit snack, Mommy.”

Hmm… I had no idea my 2-1/2 year old was a toddler-speak interpreter. I wonder if there are other things that Zoe is saying that he can translate for me. That would certainly come in handy.

My mom quickly told me that Zoe had just finished a package of fruit snacks, which would explain why she hit me up as soon as I walked in the door. She was hoping to catch me before one of the other adults in the house communicated this to me, and I still had “guilt-ridden-working-mom” (otherwise known as “sucker”) written across my forehead.

10 thoughts on “Translation

  1. Ha! You’re too funny. So, Zoe is a smart girl for knowing to strike while the iron is hot and Noah is clearly an interpretation genius. Can’t wait to see what skills Colin develops!

  2. My middle brother and I did this for our baby bro up until about 6 or 7. He had a slight speech impediment, but we were with him pretty much 24/7 so we knew what he was saying. I think being young also helped.

  3. Amazing how quickly they learn to manipulate mom, isn’t it?

    My older daughter has always been the interpreter for her little sister. Even to this day. It’s funny how much she understands that I don’t. Even though my youngest is 7 and I can now understand the words, I’m still clueless sometimes about the subject matter. My older daughter will see the look of stupidity on my face and step in to explain. It’s usually some obscure reference to Zack and Cody or Hannah M. that I didn’t see.

    BTW, Happy Birthday to one of my favorite (and most brilliant and wonderful ;P)bloggers!

  4. That is one of the greatest things about the older kids: they ARE the best interpreters. I remember doing it for my younger sister. I could frequently tell what she was saying when my parents couldn’t.

  5. Hmmm…someday I can just imagine that those two are going to join forces and team up on you. Now it is translations, but the possibilities are endless…

Leave a Reply

