Meeting Colin’s birth mom – Part Four

Part Four

We got back to the hospital and waited some more. At 7pm, the nurse came to tell us it was time to go get the baby. (The social worker had apparently gone home without saying anything to us.) 

We went back into Amy’s room. There were a few new family members and friends there, so we did some more introductions. Almost everyone (including me) was crying. We gave some final hugs and said good-byes. Amy said once more, “I just want you to know that I love him.” Again, we told her that we knew that and that Colin would know it. We gave her the gift, and told her that she could open it later.

Then we did one of the hardest things we have ever had to do. We had to walk out of the room with Colin. We weren’t allowed to carry him in the halls of the hospital, so we placed him in his bassinet-cart and wheeled him out of the room. It was incredibly sad. And awkward. And surreal. And I don’t even know what else. There are no good words for it.

We had been in the room for a few minutes with Colin when someone knocked on the door. It was Amy. She gave us each one more hug and kissed Colin one last time. She was crying and she said, “Please take care of him.” Then she left.

We had to wait another two hours or so while they did Colin’s newborn screen and completed the discharge paperwork. We finally left the hospital somewhere between 9:30 and 10, and got home with Colin after midnight.

To be continued…

5 thoughts on “Meeting Colin’s birth mom – Part Four

  1. I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been for you guys- and of course, even more so for Amy and her family. I probably would have been the biggest wuss facing the birth family.

  2. Oh, how hard that must have been. I have been told that there is an excellent chance that our son’s birthmom will be at the G&R. It will be wonderful to meet her and to allow her to meet us, but oh, how hard.

  3. Big fat tears down my cheeks. I cannot even imagine having to walk out of that room. That is such a sweet thing to have given her the necklace too.

  4. Oh my goodness, I can’t even tell you how glad I am I just started reading this story today, I would have gone crazy waiting for each new part! Though it sounds like there’s even more to come…
    What a hard, hard thing, for all of you. But I really think you handled things so well, as well as anyone could in that situation.

Leave a Reply

