Your questions answered

We’ve received lots of questions from my bloggy buddies and our real life friends and family, so I thought I would attempt to answer some of them.

Are you home with Colin?

Friday afternoon we went to the hospital where Colin was born, and he was discharged and released to us that night when he was 48-hours-old. We finally got home with him around midnight.

How is he doing?

Colin is healthy.  He weighed 6 lbs, 10 oz at birth, and was 19 3/4 inches long. The birth mom was full-term (39 weeks, 3 days). It was a vaginal delivery with no complications. His one-minute APGAR was an 8 and his five-minute was 9. He’s eating 2 ounces very 2-3 hours.

How are Noah and Zoe adusting to their little brother?

Noah and Zoe stayed at my parents’ house Friday and then spent the night. The met Colin Saturday afternoon. Noah says, “That’s baby Colin,” but mostly just ignores him so far. If I am holding Colin though, Noah wants to sit on my lap too. Zoe says, “Baby,” and is very interested in Colin. She wants to climb in his Moses basket and his bouncy seat with him. We’re trying to work on the concept of being “gentle.” She’s fascinated with his pacifiers, and alternates between trying to shove them in Colin’s mouth and trying to put them in her own. They both kissed him goodnight last night, so that’s a step in the right direction.

Did you meet the birthparents?

We were able to meet Colin’s birth mom, as well as some other family members. I will write a separate post about the meeting when I have a chance. We did not meet the birth father.

What do you know about the birth mom?

The birth mom is 27-years-old and she is Caucasian. She has two other children, a ten-year-old and an eight-year-old. We think the details of her situation should be kept private, but we will just say that she has had her share of troubles. She was not in a good situation to care for Colin right now. She was obviously very sad about making an adoption plan for Colin, but seemed to know that this was the right decision. 

What do you know about the birth father?

Update 10/23/08: A DNA test indicates that Colin’s birth father was Hispanic, not African-American as we originally believed.

The birth father is not in the picture. All we know about him is that he is African-American.

 

When will the adoption be finalized?

The adoption will not be “finalized” in court for several months, but at this point we think it’s pretty “final.” The birth mom has signed all of the paperwork. If she changes her mind, she would have to prove to a judge that Colin would be better off with her than he is with us. We have no reason to think that she will do this. The birth father has 30-days to contest the adoption, but have no reason to believe this will happen either.

What happens to your Vietnam adoption now?

We will withdraw our Vietnam adoption application in 30 days, when we know for sure that the birth father is not going to contest Colin’s adoption. We never intended to adopt domestically AND from Vietnam, nor do I think our agency or our social worker would allow us to. It was always going to be one or the other.

What happens to your Thailand application?

We never did much with our Thailand dossier, so we’re not even officially in the Thailand program, but we will also withdraw our application in 30 days.

Do you want to have more children?

We’re pretty sure this is it. Three seems like a good number.

How are you going to manage three kids under 30 months?

We have no idea. We are a little scared, but I guess we’ll just have to figure it out. We always wanted our kids to be close in age, but this was definitely closer than we ever imagined. We are probably the only people on earth that can say we completed two adoptions mUch more quickly than we expected, but that’s what happened. I believe everything happens for a reason, but I’m not quite sure what that reason is yet. The saying, “I know God will never give me more than I can handle, but sometimes I just wish he didn’t trust me so much,” comes to mind.

 

If you have other questions, just leave a comment and I will do my best to answer!

8 thoughts on “Your questions answered

  1. I am so happy for you. If you ever get a moment… I would love to talk to you. How you went about doing domestic..through an agency or just a lawyer…what is best… cost (if you do not mind) all that stuff email my personal email. And if it is easier I can call you (I have free long distance) or you call me
    thanks!

  2. Let me just say that I missed out on a few days worth of posts and Holy Crap, I missed the entire world! I started reading and I couldn’t figure out who this Colin person was…I had to scroll down a post or two until I found it and WOW was I surprised. Tracy, I am so happy for you and Christian! Congrats on the new baby!

  3. Dang!! I don’t check some blogs for a little bit and look what goes and happens!!!

    Congratulations to you and your family. I am really happy for you 🙂

    Oh, and thanks for stopping by and wishing us well. Newborns are too sweet, aren’t they?

  4. Wow – I’ve been swamped and haven’t read your blog in a few weeks. That is amazing and I am really happy for your family.

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

