First trip to the dentist

Noah and Zoe had their first visit with the dentist yesterday.

Let me just start by saying that I am terrified of the dentist and I really did not want to take them. I am usually near panic attack when I go to the dentist, and I have been that way for as long as I remember. So that I wouldn’t freak out in the days leading up to a dentist appointment when I was young, my wouldn’t tell me in advance that I had one. She would just show up at school to pick me up. I would start bawling crying when she picked me up, which I’m sure was not fun to deal with, but I guess she thought one car ride of crying was better than several days of it.

Now that I’m a grown up, I have to make my own dentist appointments. I make them every six months like I’m supposed to, but it usually ends up being more like seven or eight months before I actually make it in. I typically chicken out in the days before the appointment and I usually re-schedule my appointment at least three times before I actually make it there.

I have to have nitrous gas just to have my teeth cleaned. They always start me on the lowest setting, which does nothing for me. I sit there freaking out, debating whether or not to ask them to turn it up. If I ask them to turn it up, I worry that they will think I’m a junkie. If I don’t ask them to turn it up, I worry that I will start screaming hysterically if they come within five feet of me.

After I’m in tears and have decided that I’m OK with looking like a junkie, I speak up and ask them to put it on the highest setting allowed by law. Only then do I I finally calm down enough to let them look in my mouth. (I should add though that nitrous at that level makes you really dumb. After that much gas, I usually feel STU.PID. for the rest of the day, so it’s best if I have my appointments in the afternoon.)

Anyway, I really don’t want to pass on my weird dental phobia to my children, so I decided to put on my Big Girl Panties and deal with it (after I re-scheduled once). I also made my mom go with me.

The kids (and I) did fairly well. Afterward my mom told Noah and Zoe that she was proud of them for doing such a good job. Then she told me she was proud of me for getting through it without having to take a valium.

Noah went first.

 

Zoe watched while they cleaned Noah’s teeth. She was not sure she liked what she saw.

Zoe was not thrilled with the cleaning part, but she got over it pretty quickly though. She was fine by the time we left.

I’m due to go myself in a month or so. I’m freaking out already just thinking about it. I think I have to have x-rays and everything this time. Anyone care to place a wager as to when I will ACTUALLY make it in for an appointment?

5 thoughts on “First trip to the dentist

  1. I am the EXACT same way when I go to the dentist. I once went 2 years without going because I was so freaked out. Gross, I know. Happy to know everything went well.

  2. I CRACKED UP reading your post about your feelings about going to the dentist, not because I’m some kind of weird sadist but because I can TOTALLY relate. Except I handle the dentist a little better than MD’s…

    Do you think I could arrange to get that when I go see an MD? 😉

  3. Oh, and by the way… my husband and I also felt the same way about getting a minivan except I think I’m still in the middle of the identity crisis! 😉 We LOVE the way it drives, but somehow a year later I still cannot “picture myself” driving one.

  4. Pingback: To the dentist « My Minivan Rocks!

Leave a Reply

