Making the best of things

We decided to try to make the best of things, so we ventured out tonight. Other than our orphanage visit, we really had not left the hotel.

Noah slept through the night last night, so we are on the right track for getting him back on schedule. He never seems to want to get up from his afternoon naps though. After he slept for 2 1/2 hours this afternoon, I went in to try to wake him. He didn’t wake up until I picked him up out of the pack and play, and he was not happy that I had done so. He kept trying to lay back down in our bedroom.

We gave him a bottle, got him dressed, and headed out. Just leaving the hotel was an adventure. I never thought it could be so hard to cross a street, but there are cars, buses, and motorbikes EVERYWHERE. Stoplights are optional, as are lanes. Honking your horn is mandatory. I haven’t been that nervous in taxis since I’m used to my mother’s driving :), but it’s a different story as a pedestrian. I had been told that the secret was just to go for it, walk at a steady pace, and not make any sudden moves. Amazingly it worked.

We decided to do some shopping first (continuing my bad luck streak, I dropped and broke the tea set we bought as soon as we got back to the hotel room). There are streets around Hoan Kiem lake where all of the stores on that street sell similar items. We went out trying to find the street with musical string instruments for Christian, but we never found it. We did find eyeglasses street, toy street, silk street, and religion street.

We eventually just happened on a restaurant called Kiti that was wonderful. They had a huge menu of Vietnamese, American, and Italian food. I had a noodle salad and then some seafood fried rice. Christian had a beef stir fry dish. Noah ate some rice, tomato, cucumber, and rice cakes (the real ones, not the Quaker cheese flavored version!). My mom and I joked about my Vietnam diet plan before we left, but I don’t think it’s going to work. We have had great food since we’ve been here, including porcini mushroom pasta and bruschetta from the hotel restaurant last night and room service pancakes two different mornings.

It seems like all Vietnamese people love babies, and the staff at Kiti played peek-a-boo with Noah and then passed him around so we could finish our Tiger beers. Everywhere we go people are talking to him, tickling him, and making faces to make him smile. Again, I cannot say enough about what a great job he has done. I can’t even begin to count the number of times people have told us what a good baby he is.

We took a cyclo home. It was 50,000 Vietnamese dong for all three of us for a ten minute ride, which is about $3 US. Wow did that guy earn his three bucks. That could not be easy to peddle a bicycle with two adults and a large baby in front of you. Christian and I barely fit on it together. The cyclos here are not really designed for American butts. It was not the most comfortable ride, but we had a good time.

Well, it’s off to bed for me. Noah went down about an hour ago and now I can hear Christian in the bedroom snoring. I’m exhausted, but I don’t know if I will sleep tonight. Hopefully we will be leaving for our G&R in less than 12 hours!

One thought on “Making the best of things

  1. glad you are getting out and about

    Ahh, Tiger beer, it was so good with fresh summer rolls!

    Hoping the bad luck stops and tomorrow is a new day for you. Dying to see baby pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

