Engaged

In 2002, Christian and I went to a comedy club the Sunday before my birthday. Toward the end of the show, I really needed to pee. I kept thinking that the show as almost over though, and I was trying to hold it. We were sitting up front and I didn’t want the comedian to make fun of me if I got up to go. When I whispered to Christian that I needed to go to the bathroom, he almost yelled, “Well go!”

I was a little surprised that he has such a strong reaction about me going to the bathroom, so I went. When I got in the bathroom, I could hear the comedian over the speakers. As soon as I shut the door, I heard her say, “Thank you ladies and gentlemen. Good night.” I thought that maybe I would just wait for Christian outside since the show was over, but the emcee got back on stage and started talking about a special game show they have on Sunday nights, so I decided to go back in.

When I got back to the table, the emcee welcomed me back to the show. I thought she was just messing with me since I had gotten up to go to the bathroom. She kept talking to me and said that they were doing a special game show, and that I had been chosen as the contestant. She invited me up on stage, so I really thought she was screwing with me.

Then she continued that this was a couples’ game show, and that they needed Christian up on stage too. That’s when I knew something was up. Christian got up on stage, took the microphone, got down on one knee, and said, “Will you marry me?”

I have to say that he did well with this one. I was surprised, and I thought it was a very creative proposal. He picked out the ring on his own too, and it’s beautiful.

The people at the comedy club took a video for us and also took our picture on stage.

Leave a Reply

